Karen Johnson, M.I.M.

Accreditation Coordinator, Robbins MBA Healthcare Program, Hankamer School of Business - Graduate Programs
Senior Lecturer - Economics

Contact Information

Campus Phone:  (254) 710-6149
Fax:  (254) 710-6142
Mailing Address:  Baylor University, One Bear Place #98003
Waco, TX  76798
Office Location:  Cashion #311.02

Office Hours

Fall 2014
M, T, W, R 1:30 - 3:00 PM
and by appointment

Course Schedule

2014 - Fall ECO 3308.02 Engineering Eco Analysis MWF 1115AM - 1205PMCASHN 307
2014 - Fall ECO 3308.01 Engineering Eco Analysis MWF 1010AM - 1100AMCASHN 307


I coordinate the efforts of the MBA Healthcare Administration Program in maintaining accreditation by the Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME).
The MBA Healthcare Administration Program received its initial three-year accreditation in 2010, and in 2013 the program was reaccredited for seven years.
My ongoing responsibilities in the accreditation process include: (1) communicating with program faculty about accreditation requirements and obtaining needed information and documents from faculty; (2) maintaining necessary documents, files, and databases as required by CAHME; (3) remaining current on accreditation criteria, meeting CAHME deadlines, and submitting reports to CAHME. During self-study years, my responsibilities include: (1) collecting documents and data; (2) compiling them into the self-study report; (3) planning and hosting the site visit.

Work Experience

  • Lecturer 1979-1984 and 1988-1999, Senior Lecturer 1999-present, Baylor University Department of Economics


  • Academic, Prentice Hall Business Publishing
  • Academic, Thomson/South-Western Business and Economics Publishing, Dallas, TX
  • Academic, Worth Publishing Company

Awards and Honors

  • Light Your World Award, Phi Kappa Chi (April 3, 2013)
  • Teaching Excellence Award, Hankamer School of Business (2012)
  • Light Your World Award, Phi Kappa Chi (April 12, 2011)
  • Circle of Achievement, The Mortar Board Academic Honor Society (November 28, 2006)
  • Outstanding Professor and Teacher Award, Baylor University (May 2001)
  • Circle of Achievement, The Mortar Board Academic Honor Society (1998)
  • Professor of the Month, Alpha Kappa Psi Professional Business Fraternity (October 1996)
  • Professor of the Year, Hankamer School of Business Student Organization (1996)
  • Teaching Excellence Award, Hankamer School of Business (1993)

Professional Memberships

  • American Economic Association
Border Title