The ABO Reporter


The Accounting, Behavior and Organizations (ABO) Section of the American Accounting Association annually presents an award for the "Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation" on a behavioral or organizational topic.

Dissertations completed during calendar year 1998 are eligible for the 1999 competition. Authors wishing to enter their dissertations should submit all required materials by March 15, 1999 to:

Sandra C. Vera-Muñoz
Chair, ABO Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Committee
Department of Accountancy
College of Business Administration
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556

Submissions should include four copies of a summary, not to exceed 20 pages, that addresses the importance of the research question, an overview of the methodology employed, the data analysis, the major findings and future research ideas. Submissions should be accompanied by a letter from the dissertation committee's chair indicating that the document was accepted by the committee during calendar 1998. Finalists may be required to submit supplementary information in support of the dissertation (e.g., experimental instruments). The dissertation should not be submitted for competition simultaneously to other American Accounting Association sections.

The ABO Section Dissertation Award carries with it a plaque for the winner and for his/her dissertation chair. The winner will be announced at the ABO Section Meeting at the American Accounting Association's Annual Meeting in August 1999.

The 1999 ABO outstanding doctoral dissertation committee is comprised of: Richard W. Houston, University of Alabama, Laureen A. Maines, Indiana University, Brian C. Spilker, Brigham Young University, and Sandra C. Vera-Muñoz, Chair.

Back to Table of Contents